Catalytic Sound, a long standing independent music cooperative, expands its platform to include the music and labels of Ab Baars and Ig Henneman (WIG), Terrie Hessels (Terp), Andy Moor (Unsounds, with Yannis Kyriakides/Isabelle Vigier), Joe Morris (Glacial Erratic and Riti), and Nate Wooley (Pleasure of the Text and Sound American). Catalytic will continue to represent the music and labels of Paal Nilssen-Love (PNL Records) and Ken Vandermark (Audiographic Records), as well as the discographies of Peter Brötzmann, Mats Gustafsson, and Joe McPhee.

All this coincides with further excitement at Audiographic Records: “Momentum 1: Stone,” a 6 CD box set featuring Chris Corsano, Sylvie Courvoisier, Christof Kurzmann, Ingrid Laubrock, Okkyung Lee, Mat Maneri, Joe McPhee, Ikue Mori, Joe Morris, Paal Nilssen-Love, William Parker, Tom Rainey, Marina Rosenfeld, Ned Rothenberg, Steve Swell, Ken Vandermark, Håvard Wiik, and Nate Wooley, performing in first encounter trios and quartets. Combined with the most recent digital-download albums on its Systems vs. Artifacts imprint [Vandermark in duos with Terrie Hessels (Splinters), Lasse Marhaug (Close Up), and C. Spencer Yeh (Schlager)], Audiographic continues to document some of the finest improvised music happening today. Included in the Catalytic Sound annual sale which starts on December 8th and provides music fans a 20% discount on every item at the co-op, there’s never been a better time to explore new music than the present.